Home > Home Lab, PernixData, vSphere > Updating PernixData FVP to v1.5.0.3

Updating PernixData FVP to v1.5.0.3

In a previous post (https://vnetwise.wordpress.com/2014/03/15/pernixdata-fvp-v1-5-ga-on-vsphere-v5-5-first-look/) I did a quick write up on installing PernixData FVP v1.5GA on vSphere v5.5.  Now that v1.5.0.3 is out I wanted to capture my notes on doing the upgrade.

Normally when I do my posts, it’s to make a quick cheat sheet of an overly complex and wordy manual.  I feel a little guilty when I do a post like this for PernixData products – the documentation is short, to the point, and complete.  I could almost end with “Just read the Upgrade Guide” and be done with it.  Still, I like to keep these as my own notes in case there is something I need to refer back to next time.

The upgrade process looks like this:

  • Transition all VM’s to Write Through caching mode
  • Upgrade the FVP Management Server – in place, preserve the database and settings
  • Upgrade the hosts to FVP v1.5.0.3 – there is a manual copy / ssh process, or I like to use VUM to automate it.
  • Transition all VM’s back to whatever caching mode they were in previously.

Let’s give it a go…..

(If you use DPM to keep your lab in reduced power mode, now would be a great time to disable/manual mode DPM – make sure all hosts are up and running)

If you’re using vSphere v5.5, then FVP is accessible via the vSphere Web Client.

image

image

My previous installation of the v1.5 GA release has expired, as I didn’t have a licence.  So keep this in mind, your licencing must be in place.

image

Note your current versions – this gives you a way to confirm later what version was and is now loaded after your upgrade(s).

1) Upgrade the FVP Management Server.

image

Simply run the installer, and choose YES to upgrade.  It really is just a splash screen and a finish screen – it’s that easy. 

image

I did, however, get this error. 

image

After a quick restart of the FVP and vSphere Web Client services, all is well.  It may just need a few minutes and I was impatient.  Either way, incredibly minor, in my opinion.

2) Configure VMware Update Manager (VUM) with the new update.

My first post on FVP v1.5 GA included how to do this, the process is the same.  You’re just updating the actual extension in use.

image

3) Transition all VM’s to Write Through caching mode.

Understandably, if you’re going to mess around with the caching software, that is distributed across hosts, and upgrade the hosts one at a time in a rolling fashion, we should temporarily disable the write caching to keep things healthy – just during the upgrade process. 

image

The easiest way to do this is to navigate to vCenter –> Flash Clusters –> <Cluster_Name> –> Manage Tab –> Datastores and select the datastore(s).  You can then click EDIT and the dialog will ask you to select the policy, either Write Back + Number of peer hosts or Write Through.  Choose Write Through and press OK.

4) Remediate your hosts.

image

In VUM, scan for and then update your applicable hosts.  Note that in my screenshot, I have a host that’s suspended, but that’s normal for my environment. 

5) Transition your VM’s back to Write Back.

image

That’s really all there is to it.  As always, I’m pretty impressed by the ease that this product works with. 

Next up – integration with Veeam Backup & Recovery, to ensure cache consistent backups…  tune in soon!

Categories: Home Lab, PernixData, vSphere
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

