Home > Certification, VMware > VCP5-IaaS Certification Achieved!

VCP5-IaaS Certification Achieved!

Another one done, but JUST by the skin of my teeth.  I wasn’t really ‘ready’ to take this exam, having worked with vCloud VERY little other than v5.1 and v5.5 beta’s.  Other than that, it’s not really part of my lab or work environment, so there’s not a lot of familiarity.  But VMUG Advantage last year came with a VCP exam voucher which was set to expire end of April, so it was free either way – and I had no other applicable VCP’s to write, having VCP5-DCV and VCP5-DT.

Materials Used:

 

Thoughts:

 

I’d study more.  A lot more.  But I ran out of time, couldn’t reschedule the exam and got tied up.  The voucher was free, so unfortunately it made more sense to give it a go and see how I did and call it a learning experience.  While I was able to get past the exam, I don’t know I feel confident yet in my skills.  That probably comes down to more practice, but also practical use cases.  One of the plans is for myself and another local with a Dell C6100 to set up a “3 Local” / “1 Remote” node environment, with vCloud on both sides and see what that helps us understand when we can see it practically assembled.  I feel like I know “the course materials” but not yet as much “real world experience” as I’d like.  it’ll come over time.

What’s next?  EMC exams at EMCWorld!  See you next week…

Categories: Certification, VMware
  1. April 30, 2014 at 10:43 PM

    Congrats. So the IaaS is 5.1? I thought it was 1.5, but that was a while ago.

    • April 30, 2014 at 10:44 PM

      The current one is. It’s the first cloud one I’ve looked at so I don’t know if or when it might have changed. Just was a little frustrating when trying to learn 5.5 – so I made a virtual lab!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

