Home > vCenter Server, VMware, vSphere > HOWTO: vSphere vCenter Server v5.5.0a to v5.5.0 U1 upgrade

HOWTO: vSphere vCenter Server v5.5.0a to v5.5.0 U1 upgrade

With the recent release of vSphere v5.5.0 U1, I figured I’d do a quick post on upgrading from v5.5, as I’ll be doing a few of these in the near future, and notes are always a good thing.

Always make sure you’re as safe as possible.  Back up your vCenter SQL server/database, and vCenter Server.  If you can afford the luxury, clone a DC, vCenter, and your SQL server into a non-network connected lab, and test your upgrade there to verify you’re not going to blow anything up. 

Go download and unpack the VMware-VIMSetup-all-5.5.0-1623099-20140201-update01.iso (https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/details?downloadGroup=VC55U1&productId=353&rPId=5258 – login to MyVMware to get access).

Login to your vCenter server as your vSphere service account (svcVMware in my case) – this will ensure that all services are installed using this account, as some of the options do not ask for credentials. 

NOTE:  Now would be a good time to double check that you have enough free space on your vCenter Server and do a cleanup.  I ran out of space midway through this process, and didn’t notice until it had to be fixed.  Stupid mistake, hadn’t been poking around on that machine in the lab in a while.

Next, launch the AUTORUN.EXE, to get the installer screen up:

image

As this should be a straightforward “patch” like installation, we’ll simply do the “simple install”.

image

However, in my case, I was told I already had components installed.  So I guess we’ll be doing it via the Custom Install.

Launch the vCenter Single Sign On installer:

image

The remainder of this is a NEXT, NEXT, FINISH type of installation.

NOTE: On my system, this seemed to trigger an automatic restart, which then reloaded the installer after I logged back in.  It doesn’t appear I did anything wrong, pressed OK, or told it to reboot.  So plan for this to be in an outage window if possible.

After the restart, let’s get vSphere Web Client installed:

image

Again, as this is an upgrade, it’s NEXT, NEXT, FINISH.

image

Note that the Web Client might take a few minutes to startup in the background.

Next, install vCenter Inventory Service.  Again, NEXT, NEXT, FINISH.  It may just be the resources I’ve allocated to my VM in my lab, but launching this installer, and the time it took  where it would sometimes disappear off the screen were surprising.  So give it time.  Make sure you don’t click the installer a bunch of times, as multiple parallel installs will obviously fail.  If you do this, just click “no” for the extra installers and THEN start the first one. 

Then, install vCenter Server.  This was the first one that had any real interaction:

image

It asked for a username and password for the database, but didn’t allow it to be edited – thus the reason we run the installer as our service account.  Click NEXT, then NEXT, NEXT, FINISH. 

Other than my disk space issue, nothing terribly exciting here.  Everything went as planned. 

Not a very fancy post, but any time you’re doing a major update that isn’t just a patch, it’s worth validating.  I had to check it out for my own lab as well as the stuff in the office, so it made sense to give it a document in case I ran across anything silly.

Don’t forget to update the remainder of the components you use. 

Categories: vCenter Server, VMware, vSphere
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

