Home > ESXi, ISCSI, vSphere > Issues unmounting/removing a datastore from vSphere

Issues unmounting/removing a datastore from vSphere

As I was planning to upgrade a SAN in my environment (bigger disks in my Dell PE2950 running StarWind Free iSCSI), I ran into some issues removing the old satastore.  I figure I’ll link to a KB and post my findings here.

First, my symptoms and issues:

  • The datastore was part of a Storage DRS cluster.  I had previously put it in maintenance mode, and removed it from the cluster as I wasn’t simply doing maintenance but was going to be replacing the datastore outright.
  • Made sure that all my hosts were powered up, thinking the DPM suspended host might be part of it – no change.
  • Look for some reasons – find the VMware KB – http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=2004605
    • LUN is not being used, no VM’s on it
    • No ISO’s or otherwise on it, that’s all on a very slow one disk IX2-200D
    • No RDM’s present here
    • Datastore isn’t part of a Datastore Cluster
    • Datastore isn’t managed by Storage DRS
    • Storage I/O Control is disabled – well I never enabled it.  But sure enough it was on.  (Properties on the Datastore, and there is a checkbox)
      image
    • Datastore is not used for vSphere HA heartbeat – again, I never enabled it.  But I’m pretty sure I have it set for “choose the best options from the datastores you can reach”.  Sure enough:
      image
      You’re going to want to pick some other option.  Probably “Select any of the cluster datastores taking into account my preferences”

At this point, I was able to unmount and unpresent the LUN to my cluster.

Categories: ESXi, ISCSI, vSphere
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

