Home > AD, GPO, OMSA, SNMP > Setting Windows SNMP parameters via GPO

Setting Windows SNMP parameters via GPO

Recently, while working on a Dell Open Manage Essentials (OME – the replacement for Dell IT Assistant) installation, I found myself wishing there was a way to set SNMP parameters via GPO.  Over time I’ve found that usually these parameters only get set during first time installation, if at all.  They certainly don’t often get updated.

A little digging found me another post about it – http://www.lucidsolutionsgroup.com/blog/bid/65800/How-To-Configure-SNMP-Settings-With-Group-Policy

I can’t possibly lay claim to it.  But I did have to do a face-palm at how simple it was, and how I overlooked the Registry settings option of GPO’s.  Now that I’ve found it, and tested it, and found it to work, I suspect I’ll need to go through various other scripts I have and see if I can’t find a better way to keep my other tasks up to date.

There is of course a catch – isn’t there always.  You need to have 2008 Domain Controllers.  At least one place where I would like to use this, is in a 2003 based domain to be migrated, and clearly – it won’t work there.

Categories: AD, GPO, OMSA, SNMP
  1. Jerry A Taylor
    August 1, 2012 at 3:04 PM

    The blog appears to be down. Can you tell us what the solution was? Thanks!

    • August 2, 2012 at 7:05 AM

      Well it certainly does seem to be, and every other reference I had was to that site. Let me work back through my notes tonight, and I can try to get something updated with screen shots. Off the top of my head though, in 2008 R2, in the Group Policy Management Console (GPMC) there is setings under Computer Configuration -> Policies -> Adminsitrative Templates -> Network -> SNMP. 3 Keys – Communities, Permitted Managers, and Traps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

